EOE Winners 2017

FW Inc.’s top entrepreneurs sell everything from jet fuel, to oil field equipment, new media, in-home health, packing material, luxury homes, concrete, real estate and birthday parties


The lineup of businesspeople in FW Inc.’s 2017 Entrepreneur of Excellence awards is an impressive class that represents everything from old-line industry to emerging technology.

FW Inc. is honoring 30 finalists in 10 industries and one winner in each category: aviation, energy and natural resources, health care, manufacturing and distribution, media and communications, real estate, residential construction, commercial construction, professional services, and retail services. The inaugural contest was run and judged independently of the ownership and staff of the magazine. Tony Ford of Ford Leadership Solutions was project director. First Preston HT of Dallas provided the software platform that judges used to evaluate the nominees.

Judges evaluated applicants in financial performance, vision, best practices, relationship building, and community involvement, with equal weights. At least $1 million in annual sales was required for eligibility. The applicants' financial data was available to the judges, but not for this story. In interviews for this article, some of the applicants disclosed financial data. This report also uses data from other publicly available sources. Judges did not evaluate their own industry categories.


Category Winner: Reed Pigman, Texas Jet, Inc.

Finalist: Ken Broadie and Allisen Prigel, Broadie's Aircraft & Engine Service


Category Winner: Gregory Cobb, Precise Energy Products, Inc.

Finalist: Graham Radler, Baseline Energy Services, LP


Category Winner: Michael Boothby, Orthopedic & Sports Medicine Institute

Finalist: Angela Bowers, Southlake Dermatology
Finalist: Shay Smith, Therapy Heroes


Category Winner: Debbie Cooley, M-PAK, Inc.

Finalist: Bill Woods, Woods Distribution Solutions
Finalist: Keith Webster, Kisabeth Furniture
Finalist: Peter Zehr, FGL Group, LLC


Category Winner: Frost Prioleau, Simpli.fi

Finalist: Edward Frazier, Centerpost, LP
Finalist: Michael Fletcher and Craig Morris, RIDE Television Network


Category Winner: Alexander Chandler Alexander Chandler Realty

Finalist: Mary Margaret Davis, Mary Margaret Davis Real Estate Team
Chris Powers, Fort Capital, LP


Category Winner: Edward (Trey) Hardin, NH Southern Development

Finalist: John Askew and Linda Askew, John Askew Co.
Finalist: Paul Ramon, Ramon Roofing, Inc.


Category Winner: Chris Jordan and Luke Jordan, Electro Acoustics, Inc.

Finalist: Robert McCarthy, Cheyenne Construction Co.
Finalist: Harold Muckleroy, Muckleroy & Falls


Category Winner: Rusty Reid, Higginbotham

Finalist: Gus Bates, GBC Benefits, Ltd.
Finalist: Benson Varghese, Varghese Summersett, PLLC


Category Winner: Michael Browning, Urban Air Trampoline Parks

Finalist: Kevin Lackey, Freedom Powersports, LLC
Finalist: Bruce Schultz, Boardroom Salon for Men

Judges: John Avila, Jr., Thos. S. Byrne; Andrew Blake, Presidio Interests; Darlene Boudreaux, TECH Fort Worth; Johnny Campbell, Sundance Square; Toby Darden, Wolfcamp Water Partners; Homer Erekson, TCU Neeley School of Business; Steve Greig, Auto Maxx; Grant James, Origin Bank; Steve Laird, attorney at law; Mark Page, Tailwind Advisors and Zyn Fitness; Vince Puente, Southwest Office Systems; Ken Schaefer, Schaefer Advertising; Dorian Sims, Stacy Furniture; Hillary Strasner, ProLab; Robert Sturns, City of Fort Worth economic development; Andy Taft, Downtown Fort Worth Inc.; Dr. Jodi Tommerdahl, University of Texas at Arlington; and Martha Williams, Williams Trew.

Sponsors: Whitley Penn, Origin Bank, and Park Place Fort Worth.


Video: Please visit fwtx.com/fwinc/videos to view interviews with each finalist.